What crystals represent the chakras | Chakra crystals meaning

Written by on August 12, 2020

According to the Ayurveda other Eastern traditions such as yoga and Buddhism, Both the physical and spiritual human body requires a balanced flow of life energy. These energy centres are called the Chakras, as they are swirling wheels of spiritual power that run parallel with the body’s main energy channel. Keeping these energetic pathways activated and cleansed is very important in energy healing for enhancing your physical, emotional, and spiritual wellbeing. When these chakras are aligned, balanced, and cleansed, it helps you feel energized and healed mentally, physically, and spiritually.

The seven chakras and crystal

There are 7 main chakras: Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Heart Chakra, Throat Chakra, Third Eye Chakra, and Crown Chakra. Each of the 7 chakras has its own vibrational frequency that is associated with a different colour. In energy healing or crystal healing, the chakras can be unblocked from any emotional, physical, and spiritual imbalance. 

How do chakra crystals work?

The natural healing properties of chakra crystals can activate and balance the energy systems of the chakras in your body. Chakra crystals and stones possess natural healing energy, that vibrates with the bioenergy of each chakra. As a result, a Chakra crystal can activate and balance the movement of the natural, bioenergy within you. To activate your chakra crystals, use your intention and imagination to visualize energy while magnifying and channeling this energy through your Chakra crystal or stone. As a result, this will activate the healing properties of your crystals, and hence, activate the healing of the chakra you wish to balance.

There are seven main chakra centres in your body, starting from the crown of your head and ending at the bottom of the pelvis. Below is a brief description of what type and colour of crystals should be used to balance, align, and heal your chakras:

  1. Crown Chakra or Sahasrara (top of your head)

This chakra deals with emotion, connection, and the ability to receive. The colours which are associated with this chakra is white, gold, and lavender. Crystals which are used to balance and heal this chakra include clear quartz, lepidolite, and selenite. Clear quartz has the ability to clear and raise the vibration of the vessel it is working with. Lepidolite helps to attract abundance and good fortune, while selenite clears and protects.

  1. Third Eye Chakra or Ajna (between the eyebrows)

This chakra deals with inner vision, one’s concept of reality, understanding things as they are, the ability to receive, awareness, and thought processes. The colour associated with this chakra includes purple and indigo. Crystals like amethyst and sodalite are used to balance and heal this chakra. Amethyst calms the mind and provides emotional clarity, while sodalite also calms the mind, bring forward the truth, and provide mental clarity.

  1. Throat Chakra or Vishudha (centre of the throat)

This chakra deals with self-expression, voicing opinions, speaking one’s truth, and moving through fear. The colour associated with this chakra is Royal Blue. Two popular stones or crystal which are used to balance and heal the throat chakra are Angelite and lapis lazuli. Angelite help eases tension and reduces stress, while lapis lazuli helps one see and speak the truth.

  1. Heart Chakra or Anahata (between the sternum)

The heart chakra deals with love, kindness, empathic abilities, compassion, and acceptance. This chakra is represented with a bright green colour. Crystals which are used to heal and balance this chakra include noble green serpentine and rose quartz. The Noble green serpentine crystal is soothing and can help to provide comfort to the distrustful mind and heart. Rose quartz, on the other hand, is the stone of unconditional love and helps move energy.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura (two inches above the belly button)

This chakra deals with self-confidence and moving forward. The colour associated with this chakra is bright yellow. Crystals like tigers eye and citrine are used to heal and balance this chakra. Tiger’s eye helps one to establish a sense of confidence within oneself and helps with standing in your power, while citrine restores and charges your energies.

  1. Sacral Chakra or Svadisthana (above the pubic bone)

This chakra deals with passion, creativity, and sexuality. The colour which is used to represent this chakra is bright orange. Crystals like orange calcite and carnelian are used to heal and balance this chakra. Orange calcite is used to activate the creative and sexual energies in the body and promotes a healthy flow of each, whereas carnelian crystal helps to eliminate unwanted or negative thoughts.

  1. Root Chakra or Muladhara (low back-perineum)

The seventh chakra deals with feeling safe, being grounded, and stability. The colour which is used to denote this chakra is deep red. Stones like shungite and black tourmaline are used to balance and heal this chakra. Shungite is highly protective, since not only it protects the physical body from radiation but can be of assistance in staying grounded. Black tourmaline transfigures negative energy into positive energy and is fiercely protective as well.

Choosing the right chakra crystal

A chakra can have many crystals and stones. So, use your intuition to choose the best healing crystals that are right for you. When choosing gemstones and crystals in person, only look for the authentic ones and go for those that attract you with their glow. Lastly, feel the energy with your hands when you touch them, and if you feel a warm or tingling sensation, that’s the right crystal for you.

How to use chakra crystals for chakra healing

Once you have chosen your chakra crystal, put it over, or near, it’s associated chakra. For better healing process, relax and lay down, placing the Chakra crystal over the Chakra. Alternately, you can also hold it in your hand, or wear it as jewellery, or even keep your Chakra crystal in your pocket. Focus on activating your Chakra crystals by meditating on your intention. 

Summing Up

Before you begin with the chakra crystal healing, don’t forget to cleanse the energy of your crystals. Do this by leaving them underwater, or bury them under the earth, allowing the ecosystem to cleanse them. 

Read more about: signs you’re a healer & distance energy healing.